Home Page

EYFS Curriculum

The EYFS is made up of 4 themes: The Unique Child, Positive Relationships, The Enabling Environment and Learning and development.

These themes are important as they all combine to ensure young children make good, strong progress in their earliest years. This Stage in life is the most important as children’s minds and bodies grow and develop most from birth to age 4.

The children are introduced to new ideas and further thinking through the seven Areas of Learning and Development:

We have used this visual metaphor to illustrate the prime and specific areas;


The Branches
The prime areas support and scaffold the four Specific Areas (Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design) which include essential skills and knowledge to ensure that children have the best possible start to their Learning Journey.
The Trunk
The first three areas are known as the Prime Areas (Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development) and develop quickly in response to relationships. 
The Roots
The characteristics of learning underpin learning and development across all areas and support the child to remain an effective and motivated learner.